L’Histoire de la closerie
Nestled in one of the most picturesque half-timbered houses in Colmar, dating from the 16th century, La Maison Zimmerlin offers an exclusive view over the Dominican Church and the Saint-Martin Collegiate Church.
In the heart of the pedestrian area, a stone’s throw from the historic center of Colmar, the museums and Little Venice, our accommodation benefits from an ideal location close to shops (Cheese shops, pastry shops, delicatessens, fine wines, cellars…), restaurants and many lively bars and terraces.
The sign signed by Hansi, nickname of the famous artist illustrator Jean-Jacques Waltz, evokes gourmet cuisine made with pork and fine Alsatian cold meats.
All year long, the adjoining little square comes alive with café terraces, second-hand shops and markets.
Built in 1540 and renovated for the first time in 1929 by the butcher Emile Zimmerlin, the house has recently regained its charm thanks to a complete renovation of its facade and its frescoes.
Many craftsmen and traders have followed one another over the centuries, such as a master tailor, bakers and millers, shoveler, butcher, haberdasher, surgeon, brush maker, glove maker and merchants … to be taken over in 1892 by Emile Zimmerlin who left his mark there, since even today one can see the beautiful sign of the “pig with a string to the leg”, as well as the telephone number of the time.
In 1965, the Master pastry-maker, Jean Deutschmann took possession of the house “on a handshake tight at the corner of the street” as a signature. To this day, it is still the property of the Deutschmann family.